U. S. States and Canadian Provinces:
Instructions For Changing Name And Sex
On Birth Certificate
The information on this page depends on you, my correspondents.
If you have information to share, or corrections to make, please send it to me
Thank you very much for your help.
Dr. Becky Allison does NOT guarantee the accuracy of this information.
If you find it's wrong, let me know (nicely!) and I'll correct it.
The general answer to the question "How do I get all this done?"
(Which I am asked frequently) is:
Get an attorney to help. It's not a free service, but it's worth it.
There is an updated website, current as of January 2016,
maintained by the National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE),
which lists the information to change name, drivers license,
and birth certificate for all US States and Territories
(unfortunately not for Canadian provinces). http://www.transequality.org/documents
For information on legal name change, please see the information
compiled by Andrea James on Transsexual Roadmap.
Back to "Friends and Family" Page
For persons who are U.S. Citizens
You can change your name and gender on your U.S. Department of State issued birth certificates.
One must obtain a legal name change (original or certified copy) from the court of the county for which they reside, the original birth certificate, plus an original letter of SRS from the surgeon and forward such information to:
U.S. Dept of State
The State Department will then re-issue a new birth certificate (not amended) and the process takes approximately 6-8 weeks. As of 1999, the fee was $40, but one should call them to obtain the current fee for this process.
Alabama will issue an "amended" birth certificate noting change of name and sex, but will not issue a new birth certificate replacing the original.
The fee to prepare an amended birth certificate is $15.00, which includes one certified copy. Additional copies of the same record ordered at the same time are $4.00 each.
You will need an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change, as well as an original or certified copy of a COURT ORDER for change of sex (not just the surgeon's letter). This enters another step into the procedure and is best handled through an attorney, although at extra cost. You must file a "petition to amend a vital record," state what you want to amend, provide documentation of the reason for your petition, and name the Center for Health Statistics as defendant.
This is the actual portion from the Alabama Vital Statistics Law which deals with gender reassignment:
§ 22-9A-19(d): “Upon receipt of a certified copy of an order of a court of competent jurisdiction indicating that the sex of an individual born in this state has been changed by surgical procedure and that the name of the individual has been changed, the certificate of birth of the individual shall be amended as prescribed by rules to reflect the changes.”
On the positive side, if you live in another state they will accept the court order from that state, if issued from “a court of competent jurisdiction” (court with authority to issue such orders in that particular county or state). The fee for the court order is a separate fee, and varies from one court to another.
State Board of Health
Alaska will issue an amended birth certificate noting change of name and sex. You will need an original or certified copy of the court order for the name change, and an original or certified copy of the letter from your SRS surgeon.
Mr. Alfred G. Zangri
Please refer to the Alberta government Web pages regarding vital records. Vital Statistics requires statutory declarations signed by two doctors before a notary public, plus a statutory declaration by the applicant signed before a commissioner of oaths or a notary public. Fees to amend a birth certificate are $20. Name change to a gender-appropriate name does not require SRS or the alteration of the legal sex.
Arizona will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one. The original certificate is "closed" to further inspection.
As of 2011, the fee for the change process is $301.00.
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change. IMPORTANT: The court order must specifically state "the name may be changed on the Arizona birth certificate."
Office of Vital Records
Ms. Renee Gaudino
Arkansas will change both name and sex, and will mark the birth certificate "amended" with the new information. The request for the court order must include medical documentation (letter from SRS surgeon).
Arkansas Department of Health
Sex on a birth certificate issued in BC can be altered if 1) the sex was recorded in error at the time of birth, or 2) the person has undergone SRS.
The applicant must provide a certificate from the physician who performed the SRS; evidence that the physician is licensed in the jurisdiction where the surgery was performed; and a certificate from a physician licensed to practise in the jurisdiction where the applicant resides, stating that the person has completed SRS. (The government does not require a specific type of surgery to be performed, but that the physicians certify that the sex has been reassigned according to accepted medical standards.)
Formerly, the applicant had to be unmarried; now that same-sex marriage is legal in British Columbia, this requirement is no longer enforced. The fee to amend the birth certificate is $27; if a new certificate is to be issued, there is a fee of $27 for that service as well.
A person may change their name to one appropriate to their gender of identification without undergoing SRS or changing their legal sex assignment.
Please see the BC Vital Statistics Agency for details.
California (Update 2014)
California will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one. California Health and Safety Code, Section 103425-103445, states: "A petition for the issuance of a new birth certificate in those cases shall be filed with the superior court of the county where the petitioner resides."
The State Office of Vital Records has provided this link to assist with changing gender (or gender and name). Links to every form you may need to complete are on this page. As of 2011, you no longer need to have surgery to change your California birth record. To obtain the court order for the gender change, have your doctor fill out an affidavit telling the court that you have undergone clinically appropriate treatment for change of gender.
California will issue a new birth certificate when an applicant submits to the State Registrar an affidavit that, pursuant to Cal. Health & Safety Code 103430(a), contains substantially the following: “I, (physician's full name), (physician's medical license or certificate number), am a licensed physician in (jurisdiction). I attest that (name of petitioner) has undergone clinically appropriate treatment for the purpose of gender transition to (male or female). I declare that the foregoing is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.”
Colorado will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
In order to change the name and gender for a person born in Colorado, we need a certified copy of a legal name change and the judge ordering us to change the birth certificate because of gender reassignment. Once the surgery has been completed and you have the court order, we need a notarized letter or our correction form (website-www.cdphe.state.co.us) and $20.00 to correct the certificate, $15.00 for one copy of the birth certificate and $6.00 for each additional copies.
Jake J. Salazar
Connecticut (updated 2017)
Connecticut will change both name and sex.
Public Act 15-132, An Act Concerning Birth Certificate Amendments, changes the law to allow a person to amend the sex designator on his or her birth certificate to reflect such person's gender transition. Surgical treatment is no longer required. Instead, the sex designator on the birth certificate can be amended if the registrant provides an affidavit from a physician, advance practice registered nurse, or psychologist, that the registrant has undergone surgical, hormonal or other treatment clinically appropriate for the purpose of gender transition. Public Act 15-132 is effective as of October 1, 2015.
If you would like to request an amendment to the sex designator on your birth certificate, you must send the following documents to the Vital Records Office at the Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, Connecticut 06134.
An affidavit from you, signed under penalty of law, requesting a replacement birth certificate be created to reflect that your gender differs from the sex designated on your current birth certificate;
An affidavit completed by a licensed physician, a licensed advanced practice registered nurse, or a licensed psychologist, stating that you have undergone surgical, hormonal or other treatment clinically appropriate for the purpose of gender transition;
* The affidavit form must be obtained, by mail or in person, from the Department of Public Health. *
A certified copy of a court order granting your legal name change, if you would like your amended birth certificate to reflect a new name;
A photocopy of a valid, government issued photo identification (e.g., driver's license, passport); and
A Request for Copy of Birth Certificate if you would like us to provide a certified copy of your amended birth certificate. Along with the request form, you will also need to send payment of $30 for the cost of the certified copy of the birth certificate. The payment must be a money order payable to Treasurer, State of Connecticut.
In order to request an affidavit form or for general questions regarding this topic, you can contact department staff at 860-509-7956 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Delaware will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change.
Mr. Michael L. Richards
District of Columbia
The District of Columbia will NOT issue a new birth certificate, but will amend the original birth certificate upon receipt of certified copies of the court order for name change and the letter from the surgeon who performed SRS.
Mr. Carl W. Wilson, M.P.H.
Florida (updated 2008)
Florida WILL change name and sex on the birth certificate. Information as of 2008 indicates that the old name remains "on the bottom of the new birth certificate". I do not know if the same applies to the old gender marker. If anyone has an update of how that looks, please let me know.
To process a request for birth certificate amendment as a result of gender reassignment surgery:
· The registrant must present a court order entered pursuant to Section 68.07, Florida Statutes OR if the order is from another state, there must be evidence that the proceeding for name change is substantially similar to that outlined in Section 68.07, Florida Statutes. The registrant may submit a copy of the petition for change of name or the applicable state statute that indicates what procedures the foreign court utilized.
· The existing birth record must be amended to reflect the name change prior to processing for gender reassignment surgery.
· Once the name change is recorded, the registrant must file a notarized affidavit, i.e., DH 430, Affidavit of Amendment to Certificate of Live Birth. Additionally, pursuant to Section 382.003, the applicant must submit medical records indicating that the patient has completed sexual reassignment in accordance with appropriate medical procedures and that they are now considered to be of (male/female) gender) for all medical purposes . The medical records must be signed by the physician who performed the reassignment surgery. The physician must include his/her medical license number.
· The required amendment fee must be submitted and the record will be amended as outlined in Florida Administrative Code Rule. 64-V.1.003 (1)(f) to correct the gender, which conflicts with the given name as recorded.
Here are the details:
(1) the court order for a name change must be effected first - and the person should choose a clearly female name, e.g., don't change your name to Pat, Dana, Frances/Francis, Meredith or any other name that could be construed as a male name.
(2) the birth certificate must be amended to reflect the new, clearly female name.
(3) After the birth certificate has been amended to reflect the new "clearly female" name, then you can apply to change the gender based on the fact that the gender is clearly in conflict with the name. You should include an affidavit from the physician who performed operation and who will state that you are female.
Office of Vital Statistics
Georgia will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one. The fee for a new birth certificate is $25.00 and additional copies are $5.00 each.
Vital Records Service
Please contact the Legal Section of the Vital Records office (404-656-4901) and ask for instructions for correcting a vital record.
Hawaii will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
You will need an original or certified copy of the letter from your SRS surgeon. A court order is not required.
Alvin T. Onaka, Ph.D.
Idaho does NOT change sex on the birth certificate. A bill to permit the changes was rejected by the Idaho legislature. Idaho will, however, change the name on the birth certificate. Details on how to accomplish this can be found at the state site: http://www2.state.id.us/dhw/vital_stats/appmenu.html
Illinois will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
The revised form as of 2005 requires either a letter from a surgeon licensed to practice in the United States, or an examination post op by a physician licensed to practice in the United States. * As of 2006, unfortunately, Illinois is refusing applications from persons whose surgery was outside the US, even with a post op exam by a US physician. Now, however, Dr. Brassard has obtained a US license, so his Montreal patients can proceed with the Illinois requirements. Stay tuned.
First you should follow the instructions on their website:
This definitely appears to be the easiest way to start the process.
Or you may write to the following address:
Department of Public Health
Ask them to fax you what you need to get signed by the doctor and notarized, top and bottom (see below). Make sure you specify name and sex aka gender change form. They can also mail it to you snail mail; but it is easier to get it faxed then signed, notarized, and send in your fifteen dollars for one copy, two dollars for each one after that.
A third alternative is to call 217.782.6554 and ask for Vital Records, then ask for the birth certificate change department, and ask for a "request for change of name and sex form."
This form has two parts. The top is "affidavit by physician as to change of sex designation." If you get the form before SRS, you can ask your surgeon to fill it out and get it notarized. Otherwise you can send a separate notarized letter from the surgeon as usual. The bottom part is "affidavit by parent, guardian, or applicant, if of legal age." That part is obvious except for the line:
"THAT the following were the personal particulars at the time of birth of_____________ " Complete this line using "John Doe, now Jane Doe" or the opposite as indicated.
Complete this form and return it to this address:
Department of Public Health
IMPORTANT: Send it by Priority Mail!
Include the original letter from your SRS surgeon (unless the surgeon complete the top part of the form as above) and a certified copy of the name change order, and a check for $15.00 made out to "Vital Records". Additional copies are $2.00 each.
Indiana (update 2009)
Send a check for $10 made out to ISDH for new birth certificate.
Mary Keltner (Mary K)
From Lambda Legal and the Sylvia Rivera Law Project, 2006:
Iowa changed its birth certificate statute to allow the state registrar to issue a new birth certificate when the state registrar receives a "notarized affidavit by a licensed physician . . . stating that by reason of surgery or other treatment by the licensee, the sex designation of the person has been changed." This language recognizes that not all transgender people will complete their transition by having surgery, but that they can still be recognized as the new sex if they have completed whatever treatment is necessary as determined by their doctors.
Iowa will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change.
Ms. Jill France
Kansas (updated 2010)
From a correspondent: "As of 2010, the sex on Kansas birth certificates can no longer be changed for anything other than a clerical error at birth." Blame the reactionary politicians who currently control Kansas state government.Until sanity returns, please know that the previous information listed below is no longer current:
Kansas will issue an amended birth certificate. The following information is required: Affidavit from applicant documenting dressing and living as new gender; documentation of hormone treatment and surgery ("physiological and hormonal change").
Note: taking hormones without surgery does not qualify. Breast surgery (mastectomy) does not qualify; genital surgery is required.
The cost is $15 for amending the certificate and another $15 for each certified copy.
Elizabeth W. Saadi, Ph.D.
See the Web site: http://www.kdheks.gov/vital/amend_birth_adults.html
Kentucky (Update 2011)
Kentucky will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change. Please note that current interpretation (2005) of Kentucky law requires a notarized letter from your SRS surgeon, which can be difficult if your surgery was performed in the past or in another country.
Office of Vital Statistics
You can start the process by calling the number above.
Louisiana (updated 2009)
Louisiana will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
According to the Louisiana Department of Public Health/Vital Records Registry, a person born in Louisiana may change their name and gender on their birth certificate pursuant to Louisian Revised Statute (RS) 40:62, which can be found here:
The statute allows a person to change their gender if they have “sustained sex reassignment or corrective surgery which has changed the anatomical structure of the sex of the individual to that of a sex other than that which appears on the original birth certificate.” RS 40:62(A)
It is unclear what types of surgery constitute “sex reassignment of corrective surgery.” However, in determining whether a person has had such surgery, the court “shall require such proof as it deems necessary to be convinced that the petitioner was properly diagnosed as a transsexual or pseudo-hermaphrodite, that sex reassignment or corrective surgery has been properly performed upon the petitioner, and that as a result of such surgery and subsequent medical treatment the anatomical structure of the sex of the petitioner has been changed to a sex other than that which is stated on the original birth certificate of the petitioner.” RS 40:62(C).
To change name and gender on a Louisiana birth certificate, a person must first submit a legal petition and include a surgeon's letter and any other supporting materials detailing how the person has met the requirements of the statute. A person will likely have to get a Louisiana attorney to write the petition. The petition has to be submitted to the court in the parish where a person was born, or to Orleans parish (where the Vital records registry is located). Louisiana does not accept name and gender change orders from any other jurisdiction, so even if a person has obtained these orders in another state, Louisiana still has the discretion to refuse to change a birth certificate. Nevertheless, a person should include these (if they have already obtained them) with their petition. The court will hear the petition, and if granted, will issue an order to change name and gender. The person will then submit the order, with a fee, to the Louisiana Vital Records Registry, and it will issue a new birth certificate.
If a person has questions about the process, they can email the Vital Records registry at email@example.com or contact them at (540) 219-4500.
Maine (update 2011)
Maine will change name and sex.
The details are listed under 'department rules' for the Department of Health and Human Services,
Specifically Chapter 2 can be downloaded as a Word document here: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/10/146/146c002.doc .
LEGAL CHANGE OF NAME
When a person born in this State acquires a new name by judicial decree from a court of competent jurisdiction, the clerk of the court shall file the appropriate notification form (VS-14) with the Office of Vital Statistics upon the written request of the registrant (aged 18 or older), his or her parents, guardian, or legal representative if under the age of 18.
If the applicant wishes to amend items on his or her birth certificate in addition to the change in name, it must be done in accordance with sections 5 and 6 of this chapter.
A line shall be drawn through the name(s) to be changed and the new name(s) entered above or to the side thereof. Entries shall be typewritten whenever possible or clearly printed in black ink.
An asterisk shall be placed next to the name. A notation of the date of the court action, the name and location of the court, and the date the record was amended shall be entered on the certificate, placed so that it will become part of any copy issued.
Certificates altered under this section shall be regarded as amended and be labeled accordingly.
Certified copies of records with legal name changes finalized from January 1, 1982 through the effective date of this chapter, January 1, 1993, may not be issued by photocopying. Certified copies shall be typed and shall show only the name acquired by judicial decree. The copies shall have a marginal notation that the name was changed by judicial decree and shall show the name and location of the court.
The fee for processing each court ordered legal name change shall be paid at the time that the request and court order are presented to the Office of Vital Statistics. It includes a complimentary certified copy of the record after amendment.
If other amendments, in addition to the legal name change, are requested at the same time, the additional fee may be waived by the state registrar.
LEGAL CHANGE OF SEX
Any person born in the State whose sex has been changed by surgical procedure and whose name has been changed by judicial decree from a court of competent jurisdiction may present a certified copy of the notification form (VS-14), a notarized affidavit by the physician who performed the surgical procedure to the Office of Vital Statistics and a form VS-7 requesting that his or her birth certificate be amended accordingly.
A new birth certificate shall be prepared in accordance with section 6, subsection C of this chapter.A notation shall be entered on the certificate indicating that the name of the registrant has been changed pursuant to court order. The date of the court action, the name and location of the court, the date surgical procedures were completed, and the day the record was amended shall also be entered on the certificate, in such a way as not to become a part of any copy issued.
Certificates established under this section shall not be regarded as amended.
The fee for processing a legal sex change shall be paid at the time that the request and the surgeon’s affidavit are presented to the Office of Vital Statistics. It includes a complimentary certified copy of the new record after amendment.
Call: 1 (888) 664-9491 or (in Maine) 1 (207) 287-3181 and ask for Form VS-7: "Correcting a Vital Record in Maine." The completed form must be notarized.
Mail the notarized, completed form, along with an original letter from your SRS surgeon, an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change, and a check for $25.00 (made out to State of Maine Dept. of Health and Human Services) to:
State of Maine Dept. of Health & Human Services
In order for a person's legal gender to be reassigned, an application is required accompanied by two medical certificates: one from a doctor who performed sex reassignment surgery, and a second from a doctor who assisted at the surgery. Both certificates must attest that the sex of the applicant was changed through the surgery. There is a $25.00 fee to amend the record, and $25.00 for each new birth certificate requested.
Application forms may be requested from the Vital Statistics Agency.
Names may be changed using the normal procedure, and do not require legal gender reassignment in order to proceed.
Maryland (Update 2013)
In order for the Division of Vital Records to change your sex and name on your birth certificate, we require a Court Order indicating that both your name and sex are to be changed. You can most likely obtain an amended Court Order to indicate the correct sex along with your new name. We cannot change the sex on a birth certificate with just a Physicians letter.
[The amended birth certificate does not retain any reference to the original.]
Once you obtain this information, send True Test Copy or Original Court Order to the Division of Vital Records, P.O. Box 68760, Baltimore, Md. 21215-0020 c/o Birth Section Chief. (410) 764-3145. Include a copy of your original Maryland birth certificate and a photocopy of your picture ID.
For the State of Maryland there is a Fee of $24.00 for any change made on a birth certificate if the person is over one year of age/ for an adoption/ paternity name change/ court order name change or gender change. Checks or money orders should be made payable to the Division of Vital Records.
Massachusetts will issue an amended birth certificate. You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change. The letter from the surgeon must use the word "completed," not just "performed."
Note: in Massachusetts, people can change names free of charge if they are “indigent.” One is considered indigent if one is accessing government programs such as MassHealth, food stamps, SSI, SSDI, Section 8 housing, etc. One can also submit a form demonstrating inability to pay. The Commonwealth waves fees for these folks. This is a legal name change, not a birth certificate change.
Michigan (Update 2011)
Michigan will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one. Michigan law also provides for "sealing" of the old record. For further information, see Michigan Compiled Law 333.2831.
UPDATE 2011: There have been some modifcations to the forms for the state of Michigan. Now you must change your birth certificate before you are allowed to change your Michigan drivers license. That is the exact opposite of the previous policy. In addition to that, people who were born in other states may not be able to change their Michigan license unless their BC lists the 'new'/correct gender. There are no longer restrictions on the type of surgery one must have. As long as they have undergone some sort of procedure, and their doctor (PCP or surgeon) will verify it, they may correct their BC.
UPDATE 2010: To alter a birth record, Michigan requires a standard form available on the website:
You may download this PDF by right-clicking (Windows) or control-clicking (Mac).
UPDATE 2008: You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon [SEE UPDATE BELOW], and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change. The fee is $26.00.
Update 2008 from a Michigan correspondent:
Myself and several other transsexuals have had our requests to change our BC's denied in Michigan. The law says that a signed affadavit is required, however they do not accept surgeons letters anymore. The state mails out a form (sorry, it does not have a form number, go figure) that states that "All surgeries, including but not limited to genital surgery have been completed." The form does not say which surgeries are 'approved' but so far FTMs with chest reconstrcution have been denied, as well as those who had metiodioplasty and did not op for scrotoplasty. I have a friend who had her breast augmentation done and was also denied.
Michigan Department of Community Health
Ms. Connie Sopocy
As of August 2000 the following information applies:
There are essentially 2 ways to amend a birth record. Method one is to provide 2 documents per item being amended that were established at least 7 years ago or more which show the information the way your want it to appear on the birth record. Method two is to provide a court order which specifically directs the birth record be amended for the specific items that are desired to be changed. For either the cost is $20 to amend the record.
Mississippi will NOT issue a new birth certificate. If a court order is received, Mississippi will issue an amended birth certificate with the new name and gender typed in the margin, but the old name and gender remain unchanged.
Missouri (update 2017)
A court order will be needed with certified proof of change of sex (this certified proof will need to be printed on the hospital's official letterhead including the attending physician's licensing and contact information; also, the certification needs to state "The Petitioner's physical sex has been altered and the surgical changes are irreversible in accordance with Mo. Ann. Stat. § 193.215(9)). All amendment questions or issuance of an amended certificate of birth should be referred to the Missouri Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Bureau of Vital Records
Any changes on the birth certificate will be noted on the original copy of the birth record and marked "amended" on the abstract copy with the corresponding authority (law) listed. The original birth certificate, not including the abstract copy, will have the old name and gender struck through with the corrected name and gender typed above the strikethrough. Any challenges to this process will have to be filed in a district or federal court as the circuit court is only able to address county-level issues.
Montana will issue an amended birth certificate, but the item(s) amended are not designated.
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change.
Debra M. Fulton
Nebraska (update 2015)
Nebraska will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon (on official stationery with license number) stating that he/she has “performed surgery that has permanently and irreversibly changed a person’s sex from” male to female or female to male. The surgeon's signature must be notarized.
If the original birth certificate does not contain the parents' Date of Birth and City and State of Birth, that information will need to be provided as well. You will also need an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change. Additionally, the person must also complete a NE birth certificate amendment form HHS-81, available here:
These forms must be submitted with a copy of the name change court order, a $16 processing fee, a $17 fee for a copy of the new birth certificate (if desired), a copy of their current ID (which does not need to have the changed name or gender marker), and a stamped self-addressed envelope, to the address on the amendment form:
Vital Records Office
Nevada will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change..
New Brunswick/Nova Scotia
The following information is current as of March 2002, according to my sources:
I live in New Brunswick, Canada, I was born in Nova Scotia, Canada.
First I had to visit the Vital Statistics New Brunswick office on-line to change my name:
They have all the info and you can order the 'kit' on-line. I was asked to provide a letter from a therapist as to verify the nature of my request. I also had to provide an original 'long-form' birth certificate, because I was born out of province. I ordered that on-line from this site:
It cost $25 and was delivered promptly.
After all that, and $100 later to PNB, I got my 'Change of Name' certificate.
Then you go back to the PNS (Province of Nova Scotia) site. In order to change name and sex, you will need to supply this Change of Name certificate, a letter from your SRS surgeon, and a letter from another physician who has examined you post op.
New Hampshire will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
New Hampshire now requires a document of a court-ordered legal sex change....just a surgeon's letter is not enough. They made this change in Nov 2001.
NH State Vital Records Code 7007.03(e)
You will also need an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change.
Ms. Karen Grady
New Jersey(update 2005)
New Jersey will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
Previous Update, June 2005:
Updated New Jersey information as of November 2002:
State of New Jersey
Mr. Don Lipira
New Mexico (update 2010)
New Mexico will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one. The old information will be "sealed" and cannot be opened without a court order.
You will also need this Birth Search Application form completed : http://www.vitalrecordsnm.org/Forms/birthsearchapp.pdf
The fees are $10.00 for changing the information, and another $10.00 for a new certificate.
Vital Records and Health Statistics Bureau
New York City (update 2016)
New York City has its own separate Bureau of Vital Statistics. New York City will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
From NYC's Birth Certificate Corrections Page:
How do I change the gender marker on my birth certificate?
In December 2014, the NYC Board of Health approved a change in the requirements to change the gender marker on a NYC birth certificate, effective January 2015. The Health Department no longer requires proof of convertive surgery and a name change. Please see below for details on how to apply.
You must submit a photocopy of current, signed photo identification and a check or money order for $55 ($40 processing fee plus $15 fee for new certificate) made payable to the NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene and the following documents:
A completed Birth Correction Application form (VR-172, PDF).
If you have any questions, or need assistance finding a provider, please call 311 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
For information about transgender health and resources in NYC, please visit the Transgender Health webpage.
New York State (Update 2014)
New York State will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate.
New York State will now issue a corrected birth certificate after receiving an affidavit from a licensed medical provider stating that a transgender individual has received appropriate clinical treatment. This does not specify surgical treatment.
State of New York
Mr. Peter Carucci
Updated information October 2013 for New York State:
It turns out that NYS has two different forms of birth certificate:
(i) a regular "Certificate of Birth" that contains your name, sex, date of birth, time of birth, county/city/town of birth, parent's names, ages and social security numbers, mother's maiden name and address at the date of birth, whether this was a twin birth, etc.
(ii) a much shorter "Certification of Birth" that the Dept of Vital Stats internally calls the "wallet size", which only contains your name, sex, county/city/town of birth, and date of birth.
The "wallet size" is available by simply asking for the "wallet size" (it costs the same $15 as the long form) when ordering. The wallet size does not serve as a legally valid birth certificate if it does not include the names of both parents.
North Carolina will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one.
You will need an original notarized letter from your SRS surgeon, and a certified copy of the court order for your name change. The processing fee for the preparation of a new birth certificate is $15.00. There is an additional $15.00 to obtain one certified copy of the new record. Each additional copy is $5.00.
Ms. Vickie Pearce
North Dakota will issue an amended birth certificate. You will need an original or certified copy of the court order for the name change, and an original letter from your SRS surgeon.
Mrs. Beverly R. Wittman
Nova Scotia: see New Brunswick
Ohio will NOT change sex on the birth certificate. There was some question whether Ohio will even change the name, but latest information tells me that name change can be done through the Division of Vital Records with a court order. This, however, does not amend the original birth certificate. An "abstract copy" will be created with a court order, and if you request by name this "abstract copy" you will receive an attached statement with your new name.
You may, however, be able to have the sex designation on your Ohio driver's license changed. See link below, thanks to TransOhio and Equality Ohio:
Oklahoma (update 2011)
We have conflicting information from Oklahoma. Please read this message recently (March 2011) received and compare it with the information below it. I am not sure if this depends on the person you come in contact with or if it has recently changed again.
At the present time, the Oklahoma State Department of Health does not have the statutory authority to amend a birth certificate to modify the gender. A bill was introduced in the Oklahoma State Legislature in 2011 to give the Oklahoma State Department of Health the authority to amend a birth certificate to modify gender, but that provision in the bill was defeated.
Oklahoma will issue an amended birth certificate. You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon.
Information as of 2007 is that Oklahoma issues a two page certificate, with the "amendment" page on top, and the original page unamended on the bottom.
What you need to send:
1. Notarized statement from the SRS physician who completed the SRS surgery
If you have questions, contact: Lucinda (405) 271-5615 at the Oklahoma Office of Vital Records.
Ontario will issue an amended certificate, changing either name or sex, and the certificate will not reveal which items were changed. The change of the sex designation on the birth registry is a separate process from the change of name. A copy of the long form of the certificate will list the original name and sex, along with the new name and new sex, plus annotations describing the changes made.
Change of Name: Contact the Registrar General’s office and request an "Application to change an adult’s name". You will need original copy of your birth certificate, a signature of a guarantor, and a signature of a commissioner. Present cost is C$137.
Change of Sex Designation: Contact the Registrar General’s office and request an "Application for Change of Sex Designation on Birth Registry" package. There are three forms to be filled in. You fill in the "Application for Change of Sex Designation on Birth Registry" form. The surgeon who conducted the transsexual surgery the "Medical Certificate of Transsexual Surgery". And another physician completes the "Medical Certificate to Substantiate Transsexual Surgery was Performed" form. The cost to have the change performed is C$37. Cost of the short form (certificate) is $C15 while the cost of the long form is C$22.
Office of the Registrar General
Oregon will change both name and sex, and will issue an amended birth certificate, without any designation of what has been amended.
Updated information as of January 2010:
Contact Oregon Vital Records at this link.
The telephone contact is (971) 673-1137.
Send a copy of the name change court order and the court order for gender change (these will not be returned to you) along with $50 to:
I would suggest that anyone planning on doing this call for the correct person as the job does move around. A good referral is the department manager, (971) 673-1178.
Pennsylvania will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate with no mention of being amended. The original birth certificate is amended and "sealed" so that it is unavailable to the public.
You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change. The fee is $10.00, but there is no fee for military veterans.
Mail to this address:
Vital Records, Corrections Unit
With your materials, include your date and county of birth. "Please send the certified court order change of name as well as your incorrect birth certificate. We also need a letter from your doctor stating sex reassignment surgery has occurred and you are now functioning in the newly assigned gender."
Please note that some respondents report that Pennsylvania kept their original letter from the SRS surgeon and would not return it.
In order for a person's legal gender to be reassigned, the person must be of age, unmarried, and a Canadian citizen, and have resided in Quebec for at least a year. Sex reassignment surgery must be completed. A form from the Directeur de l'état civil must be submitted along with:
Rhode Island (update 2014)
October 2014: Rhode Island no longer requires proof of surgery to change the birth certificate. A notarized statement from a healthcare provider certifying that "appropriate medical or surgical treatment" has been given. Also Rhode Island will issue a new birth certificate rather than amending the old one.
December 2010: While the information below may be correct, the staff at the Department of Vital Records recommend that you contact them directly at www.health.ri.gov for updated information.
You will need a notarized statement from the physician that performed the complete surgery. The statement must be on the official letterhead of the hospital or clinic, and must declare that the "complete" surgery was performed and state the correct sex of the patient. The statement must also include the date and place of birth of the patient. Once I receive this document, I will send you an affidavit to be signed in the presence of a notary public. You would then return the signed affidavit, along with the $30.00 fee and a photocopy of your picture ID. If there is also a legal name change involved, you would have to send us a certified copy of the court order for the legal name change.
Office open to public: Monday through Friday
State of RHODE ISLAND
There is a $20 fee for a certified copy of existing birth certificate and a $30 fee for a certified copy of new birth certificate showing a change of sex (as of 9/15/10).
The relevant legislation is the Saskatchewan Vital Statistics Act. It requires a medical certificate of completed SRS from a physician licensed in the jurisdiction where the surgery took place (or, if this cannot be obtained, other documentation as required by the director of vital statistics); a certificate signed by a second licensed physician attesting that the person was examined and found to be of the target sex; and "any other evidence the director may require." With this, the sex on a birth certificate issued in Saskatchewan may be altered. The fee is $20. See Saskatchewan Health -- Vital Statistics.
South Carolina (update 2014)
2014 changes to the South Carolina laws on Vital Records (thanks to Dylan Goldman for update):
Section 37. Legal Changes
Bureau of Vital Statistics
Mr. Murray B. Hudson, M.P.H.
South Dakota (update 2006)
Contact: Vonda Abbott, Secretary, Office of Data, Statistics, and Vital Records
Tennessee will NOT change the sex designation on the birth certificate.
Tennessee will issue an amended birth certificate with the old name visibly struck over and the new name typed above it. You will need an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change.
Texas (updated 2011)
Direct from the Amendment Specialists at the Department of Vital Statistics
The fees to file an amendment to a birth certificate are $15.00. The cost of a certified copy of the birth certificate is $22.00 for each certificate. The fees were raised in December of 2005. There are two styles of the birth certificate, a short form or abstract and a long form. The short form is printed from the computer system and will only show the new name, date of birth, place of birth, sex, and parent’s names. The long form is a photocopy of the original birth record filed with our office at the time of birth onto our certified paper that will show the amendment underneath. On the long form you will be able to see the old information and the new information and how it was changed. It is up to you which style of birth certificate you want. We will automatically issue the short form or abstract unless you specifically request the long form.
Utah (update 2011)
Utah will issue an amended certificate, changing both name and sex, and the certificate will not reveal which items were changed.
You will need original or certified copy of a court order for your name change and a court order for your change of sex designation. These court orders can be from any U.S. State or from Canada.
Mr. Barry E. Nangle
Update 2007: The Utah statute involved is 26-2-11 of the Utah Vital Statistics Act.
This Utah attorney has experience with filing for court orders and is recommended:
Vermont will issue an amended certificate, changing both name and sex.
You will need original or certified copy of a court order for your name change and a court order for your change of sex designation. The court will probably require documentation from your SRS surgeon.
Virginia will issue a new birth certificate as of 2005:
12 VAC. 5-550-320. Change of Sex.
Update 2008: If a notarized letter from the physician performing the surgery is presented, a court order may not be necessary.
Washington (Updated 2013)
Washington State will amend birth certificates to reflect name changes and gender changes. Washington State has no laws or codes regarding birth certificate changes, so there are no official requirements for Sexual Reassignment Surgery in order to change your birth certificate.
In order to change your gender marker you must fill out an Affidavit for Correction:
You can also provide a certified copy of your Name Change Order to amend your birth certificate to reflect the name change. Mail the letter, a copy of your old birth certificate, and the $20 fee to :
West Virginia will change both name and sex, and will issue an amended birth certificate with the old name struck over and the new name and sex typed in the margin.
You will need an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change, and an original letter from your SRS surgeon.
Wisconsin will change name and sex on the birth certificate. You will need a certified copy of your Court Order for Name Change as well as a certified copy of a Court Order for change of gender (two separate court orders). You will need a signed, dated, notarized letter from your surgeon confirming the date of the procedure. The surgeon should include your name, date of birth, date of surgery, type of surgery (male-to-female), and where it was performed. Finally, you will need your original birth certificate or a certified copy.
Another Wisconsin correspondent gives additional information on having your old birth cdertificate "impounded":
Write a letter addressed to: Vital Records Office, 1 West Wilson Street, Box 309, Madison, WI 53701-0309. Explain that you are transsexual and seek to amend your name and sex and have the original birth record impounded. They will send you a form called: Report of Order to Change Name & Sex on Birth Certificate Due to Surgical Sex-Change Procedure (Form F-05035). This form can be used by any state to order information on a Wisconsin birth record to be changed. Remember, your current state of residence may have their own rules as to what they are authorized to order another state to change on a birth record. You will need to check state law yourself or contact your courthouse or legal advisor.
Fill out Form F-05035 exactly as specified, making sure that you mark the box that orders the birth certificate be "Impounded and a new birth certificate shall be created for the registrant."
If your state of residence allows ordering the record to be impounded, you can get the order certified where you live (otherwise, you should see about returning to Wisconsin and doing it in person). Go to your county courthouse, where the Clerk of Court or Deputy can assist you in preparing the proper forms. It is very likely you will have to pay a fee, and it is also likely you will need to appear before a judge. The cost for the appearance will vary significantly: I paid $221 in my state.
Appear in court. You can represent yourself in court (pro se) or have a lawyer help. You should consider having a lawyer or TS friend who has been through this help you if you are uncomfortable filling out forms yourself. You will probably have to fill out a cover sheet, a complaint, and an order.
Everyone I encountered at my local courthouse, including the judge, had never done one of these before, and they process almost 20,000 cases a year. I recommend coming in with all of the necessary information. Below is the text of the Complaint and Order I wrote out on the spot, which worked fine.
Return the form imprinted with the court seal along with the appropriate fees. In 2001, the fee was $20 to create a new birth record. A certified copy was $12 for the first and $2 for each copy ordered at the same time.
RELEVANT LAW (subject to change):
Wyoming will issue an amended certificate. The certificate will specify the birth name and the birth gender, unless you can obtain a court order mandating a new certificate be created.
Proof of identity is required, along with letters from two doctors attesting that the applicant's anatomical sex has been changed. There is no fee to alter the birth record, but the old birth certificate must be surrendered and a new one ordered.
Please contact me if you have new information for this list, or any corrections.